Tattoos / Permanent Makeup
Tattoo / Permanent Makeup Program
The Environmental Health Program monitors tattoo and permanent make up facilities in Pinellas County to ensure compliance with the FL statutes for safety, sanitation, and correct operating procedures to ensure the safety of Pinellas residents and visitors.
Tattoo Establishment Licensure Requirements
A person may not operate a tattoo establishment in this state without a license.
Licensure of the tattoo establishment requires submission of a completed Application for Tattoo Establishment License, with the required $200.00 fee to the Department of Health in Pinellas County.
Tattoo establishments will be inspected by county health department staff who administer the biomedical waste and body piercing programs, to determine compliance with sections 381 Florida Statutes (F.S.).
The Practice of Tattooing and Chapter 64E-28, F.A.C. An inspection with a passing result is required prior to issuance of a tattoo establishment license.
Tattoo Artist Licensure Requirements
This includes persons who practice cosmetic tattooing, which is also known as permanent makeup or micropigmentation, and students or apprentices who tattoo human beings as part of their tattoo training.
Licensure of the tattoo artist requires submission of a completed Application for Tattoo Artist License, with the required $60.00 fee; a copy of a government-issued photo identification confirming the applicant is at least 18 years of age; and documentation of completing a department-approved, industry-specific bloodborne pathogens and communicable diseases course with a minimum examination score of 70%.
Artists must apply for a license in the county where they live regardless of where they work.
Note: Beginning on October 1st, 2022, a fee increase of $50.00 will go into effect for all tattoo artist licenses in Pinellas County.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I apply for a permit?Information on tattoo facility licensing requirements can be found at the following site:
An application for tattoo artist licensure can be found here.
Are there approved educational training courses for Tattoo Artists?YES - See Training link below:
Where can I see inspection results for a Health Department inspected facility?Follow these instructions.
Where can I find more information about the Florida Department of Health's role in these facilities?Visit the Florida Department of Health's website: