skip to content

Death Certificates

FL Dept of Health in Pinellas - Birth/Death Certificates

  •  727-507-4330 ext7613
  •  

    Fax

    727-507-4335
  •  

    Mailing Address

    Mid County Health Department 

    8751 Ulmerton Road 

    Largo, FL 33771 

As of January 1, 2016, Vital Statistics hours for the public will change to 8:00 am - 4:30 pm.

General Death Certificate Information 

Death certificates are public record without cause of death. Anyone may obtain certified copies without the cause of death information. The cause of death becomes public information after 50 years from the date of death. By Florida law, the cause of death is considered confidential prior to that time.

Death certificates which includes the cause of death may only be issued to the decedent's spouse, parent, and (if of legal age) child, grandchild, or sibling, or anyone who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates their interest in the estate of the decedent or anyone who provides documentation that he or she is acting on the behalf of any of the previously mentioned persons, or by court order.

If the death occurred before 2009, please visit:
Florida Department of Health Certificates and Registries

If the death occurred in another county in Florida, please visit:
FL Dept of Health County Dept Listing

If the death occurred in another state, please go to the following link to obtain address information to order the certificate:
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w.htm

Additional Information 

If you are a beneficiary on a life insurance policy, a certificate will be issued to you with the cause of death provided the following is supplied with your request and payment. The life insurance policy must name the applicant as beneficiary. This may be in the form of a copy of the policy or a letter from the insurance provider stating the applicant is a beneficiary of the registrant’s insurance policy.

If you are requesting the cause of death, you must state your relationship to the deceased. Proof of identity is required to prove eligibility. Acceptable forms of identification are Florida Driver’s License, Florida State ID Card, U.S. Passport, or Military ID Card. Expired forms of identification will not be accepted. Must include a copy of a valid form of identification. If a relationship is not stated, you will be issued a certified copy without the cause of death information.

If the applicant was not born in Florida, please go to the following link to order certificates from other states: http:///www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w.htm

Types of Death Certificates Available in Pinellas County:

Certified Certificates are available for death years 2009 to the present.

Cause of Death NOT Needed For: 

  • Probate
  • Title Companies
  • Vehicle Title Transfers
  • Taxes
  • Property Claims
  • Credit Card Companies

Fees 

When Ordering from DOH-Pinellas

Certified Computer Certificate: $9.00

  • (AVAILABLE FOR FLORIDA DEATHS 2009 TO PRESENT)
  • Photocopy of the original record or computer certificate

Additional computer certificates on the same record, ordered at the same time: $8.00

Optional Purchase:

  • Notary Services $10.00

Regular Orders:

  • Orders not rushed will be processed within 5 business days. This does not include postal transit time to and from our office.

Rush Orders: $5.00

  • Mark the outside of the envelope “RUSH”.
  • Orders are processed within 3 business days of receipt. This does not include postal transit time to and from our office.

Payment Methods 

When Ordering from DOH-Pinellas

In Person:

  • Cash, checks, money orders, Visa, MasterCard or Discover are acceptable forms of payment. Current ID is required in person. Acceptable forms of ID are Driver’s License, State ID Card, issued by Dept. of Motor Vehicles, Military ID, or Passport.

By Mail:

  • Check or money order should be made payable to Florida Department of Health in Pinellas County. Visa, MasterCard or Discover are also accepted. Credit card number, expiration date, and billing address are required. Include a copy of the applicant's valid identification. Orders will be returned unprocessed if the requests are incomplete.

By Fax:

  • Credit cards only (Visa, MasterCard or Discover). Our Fax number: (727) 507-4335. Credit card number, expiration date, and billing address are required along with a copy of current ID. Acceptable forms of ID are Driver’s License, State ID Card, issued by Dept. of Motor Vehicles, Military ID, or Passport.

Please Note:

    • The applicant must use their own credit card and their billing address in order to have their requests processed.
    • All faxed requests will be treated as "rush orders" and will be charged the additional $5.00 fee.
    • After faxing your application and required ID, please contact our office at 727-507-4330 ext. 7613 to verify your faxed request was received and the ID is clear to read.

Delivery Methods 

When Ordering from DOH-Pinellas

USPS:

  • Certificates mailed via U.S. Postal Service - Included with the purchase of certificate.

Overnight: $15.00

  • Requests for overnight delivery must be marked “OVERNIGHT”.

How to Order Birth Certificates 

When Ordering from DOH-Pinellas

Please Provide the following Information on death application or hand-written letter:

  • Full name of the deceased person
  • Date of death (month, day and year)
  • If the date of death is unknown, give an approximate date of death or a series of years to be searched i.e. 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005. If the record is not located, this office keeps the search fee.
  • Name of Funeral Home (if known)
  • City of Death

Additional Information Required:

  • Applicant’s name - Signature and printed
  • State your relationship to the deceased
  • Mailing address
  • Daytime phone number

Please Note:

  • Requests may be ordered by mail, by fax, online or brought in person to the Vital Statistics office.
  • Please mail your completed application form, copy of valid identification and payment to:
  • Florida Department of Health in Pinellas
  • Vital Statistics
  • 8751 Ulmerton Road, Suite 1700
  • Largo, FL 33771
  • The applicant must use their own credit card and their billing address in order to have their requests processed.
  • All faxed requests will be treated as "rush orders" and will be charged the additional $5.00 fee.
  • After faxing your application and required ID, please contact our office at 727-507-4330 ext. 7613 to verify your faxed request was received and the ID is clear to read.