skip to content

Birth Certificates

FL Dept of Health in Pinellas - Birth/Death Certificates

  •  727-507-4330 ext7613
  •  

    Fax

    727-507-4335
  •  

    Mailing Address

    Mid County Health Department 

    8751 Ulmerton Road 

    Largo, FL 33771 

As of January 1, 2016, Vital Statistics hours for the public will change to 8:00 am - 4:30 pm.

General Birth Certificate Information 

stork delivering baby

Birth certificates are not public records. They only become public records 100 years following the birth.

Birth certificates can only be issued to the registrant (the child named on the record) if of legal age (18), parent, guardian or legal representative of one of these persons or by court order. Court orders must be the most current and signed or stamped by a judge.

If the registrant is deceased, upon receipt of the death certificate, the birth certification can be issued to the spouse, child, grandchild, sibling, if of legal age, or a legal representative of any of these persons as well as to the parent. The birth certificate will be stamped “Deceased”.

If the birth occured in another state, please go to the following link to obtain address information to order the certificate: http:www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w.htm

Additional Information 

Florida law restricts the issuance of birth certificates. Proof of identity is required to prove eligibility. Acceptable forms of identification are Florida Driver’s License, Florida State ID Card, U.S. Passport, or Military ID Card. Expired forms of identification will not be accepted. Must include a copy of a valid form of identification.

Please Note: The birth certificate for a newborn is not automatically mailed to the parent after birth. The parent must apply for the birth certificate through a Vital Statistics office and pay the proper fee.

If the applicant was not born in Florida, please go to the following link to order certificates from other states: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w.htm

Types of Birth Certificates Available in Pinellas County 

A Certified Certificate is an abstract of the original birth certificate and is accepted as legal proof of birth and citizenship. Certificates are available for birth years 1917 to the present.

Fees 

When Ordering from DOH-Pinellas

Certified Computer Certificate: $13.00

  • (AVAILABLE FOR ALL FLORIDA BIRTHS 1917 TO PRESENT)
  • Computer generated copy of the original record.
  • Accepted as legal proof of birth and citizenship.
Additional computer certificates on the same record, ordered at the same time: $8.00

Optional Purchase:

  • Protective Plastic Cover for the birth certificate  $4.00
  • Notary Services $10.00

Regular Orders:

  • Orders not rushed will be processed within 5 business days. This does not include postal transit time to and from our office.

Rush Orders: $5.00

  • Mark the outside of the envelope “RUSH”.
  • Orders are processed within 3 business days of receipt. This does not include postal transit time to and from our office.

Payment Methods 

When Ordering from DOH-Pinellas

In Person:

  • Cash, checks, money orders, Visa, MasterCard or Discover are acceptable forms of payment. Current ID is required in person. Acceptable forms of ID are Driver’s License, State ID Card, issued by Dept. of Motor Vehicles, Military ID, or Passport.

By Mail:

  • Check or money order should be made payable to Florida Department of Health in Pinellas County. Visa, MasterCard or Discover are also accepted. Credit card number, expiration date, and billing address are required. Include a copy of the applicant's valid identification. Orders will be returned unprocessed if the requests are incomplete.

By Fax:

  • Credit cards only (Visa, MasterCard or Discover). Our Fax number: (727) 507-4335. Credit card number, expiration date, and billing address are required along with a copy of current ID. Acceptable forms of ID are Driver’s License, State ID Card, issued by Dept. of Motor Vehicles, Military ID, or Passport.

Please Note:

    • The applicant must use their own credit card and their billing address in order to have their requests processed.
    • All faxed requests will be treated as "rush orders" and will be charged the additional $5.00 fee.
    • After faxing your application and required ID, please contact our office at 727-507-4330 ext. 7613 to verify your faxed request was received and the ID is clear to read.

Delivery Methods 

When Ordering from DOH-Pinellas

USPS:

  • Certificates mailed via U.S. Postal Service - Included with the purchase of certificate.

Overnight: $15.00

  • Requests for overnight delivery must be marked “OVERNIGHT”.

How to Order Birth Certificates 

When Ordering from DOH-Pinellas

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Birth records can only be issued to the applicant (the child named on the record) AND be over 18 years old, or:
  • The parent, guardian or legal representative of the person named on the certificate, or:
  • By court order.

Please Provide the following Information on the birth application or hand-written letter:

  • Full name of child at birth and any legal name changes other than by marriage
  • Date of birth (month, day and year)
  • If the record is not located, this office keeps the search fee
  • City or county of birth
  • Father’s full name
  • Mother’s full name including her maiden name

Additional Information Required:

  • Applicant's name - Signature and printed
  • Relationship to person named on the certificate (father, mother, self, etc.)
  • Mailing address
  • Daytime phone number

Please Note:

  • Requests may be ordered by mail, by fax, online or brought in person to the Vital Statistics office.
  • Please mail your payment to:
  • Florida Department of Health Pinellas
  • Vital Statistics
  • 8751 Ulmerton Road, Suite 1700
  • Largo, FL 33771
  • The applicant must use their own credit card and their billing address in order to have their requests processed.
  • All faxed requests will be treated as "rush orders" and will be charged the additional $5.00 fee.
  • After faxing your application and required ID, please contact our office at 727-507-4330 ext. 7613 to verify your faxed request was received and the ID is clear to read.