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IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR PROVIDERS IN PINELLAS COUNTY 

PLEASE NOTE THAT THESE ARE STATEWIDE DCF CHANGES THAT WE 
MUST COMPLY WITH 

#1 FOR STAFF/OWNERS/DIRECTORS WORKING UNDER AN EXEMPTION 

Child care personnel (including directors and owners) currently working under an exemption 
for background screening clearance due to a disqualifying offense must undergo a rescreening 
by August 1,2016 to determine ongoing engibility to continue to work in child care. Chapter 
2016-98, Law of Florida changes Chapter 435.07, Florida Statute to identify felony and 
misdemeanor disqualifying offenses for which the Department of Children and Families can no 
longer grant an exemption for background screening for an individual to work in child care. 
DCF will notify each individual and the assigned employer via a certified letter explaining the 
rescreening process and the timeframe for completion. PLEASE DO NOT RESCREEN STAFF 
PRIOR TO JULY 1st, 2016. DCF will advise the individual and the employer of the process and 
when to conduct the rescreening. Conducting the rescreening prior to July 1 st, 2016 will result 
in the screening not being accepted/used. 

#2 BACKGROUND SCREENING CHANGES FOR EVERYONE 

Also, effective July 1, 2016 the background screening process for child care personnel is 
changing to include specific processes and additional elements. All potential child care 
personnel must submit a full set of fingerprints through the Background Screening 
Clearinghouse. EVERYONE SHOULD BE ENROLLED IN AND USING THE 
CLEARINGHOUSE BY NOW. In order for DCF Background Screening to deem an individual 
eligible to work in child care, DCF must in addition to the national and state criminal history 
check, conduct a search of the criminal history records, sexual predator and sexual offender 
registry and the child abuse and neglect registry for any state in which the applicant has 
resided during the preceding 5 years. These checks must occur prior to DCF issuing an 
eligible to work in child care determination. Individuals who were screened and employed prior 
to July 1st

, 2016 will be subject to rescreening by DCF by November, 2017. Stay tuned for 
more information on this process. 

#3 NEW FIVE YEAR EMPLOYMENT HISTORY CHECK REQUIREMENT 

Any child care personnel hired on or after July 1, 2016 is required to have a 5 year 
employment history check. Employment history checks must include documented attempts to 
contact each employer where the individual was employed within the preceding 5 years. 
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#4 SCHOOL READINESS PROVIDERS ONL V-NEW REQUIREMENTS 

In an effort to meet the Child Care Development Fund 2014 Reauthorization requirements, 
Florida's Office of Early Learning (DEL) must ensure children are being cared for in quality 
child care settings. DEL will establish health and safety checklist standards, pre-service and in­
service training requirements, standards for emergency preparedness plans, group sizes and 
ongoing monitoring requirements to ensure compliance. These requirements will be monitored 
by the Child Care Licensing Program on an annual basis during the children's center renewal 
inspection. The monitoring results will be shared with the Early Learning Coalition of Pinellas 
County. Stay tuned - DCF, DEL and Child Care Licensing will be hosting provider meetings in 
our area to share this information. Please note, that if Licensing Regulation Governing 
Children's Centers in Pinellas County exceed any of these requirements, they must 
continue to be met. 

Although these are big changes, they support increased quality in child care settings. The 
Child Care Licensing Program will work closely with providers to ensure understanding of 
these changes, and compliance. Please contact our office at (727) 507-4857 should you have 
any questions. 

Thank you for continuing to partner with us by providing healthy, safe and quality environments 
for children in care. 




