
                                         ACKNOWLEDGMENT FORM 
 for Children’s Centers 

Child Abuse & Neglect Reporting Requirements 
All child care personnel are mandated by law to report their suspicions of child abuse, neglect, or 

abandonment to the Florida Abuse Hotline in accordance with Chapter 39.201 of the Florida 
Statutes (F.S.).   

 

 Child care personnel must be alert to the physical and behavioral indicators of child abuse and neglect. 
“Child Abuse or Neglect” is defined in s. 39.201, F.S., as “harm or threatened harm” to a child’s health 

(mental or physical) or welfare by the acts or omissions by a parent, adult household member, other 
person responsible for the child’s welfare, or for purposes of reporting requirements by any other person. 

 
 Categories include:  

- Physical Abuse or Neglect (i.e. unexplained bruises, hunger, lack of supervision…) 

- Emotional Abuse or Neglect (i.e. impairment in the ability to function, depression…) 
- Sexual Abuse (i.e. withdrawal, excessive crying, physical symptoms…) 

 
  Reports must be made immediately to the centralized Florida Abuse Hotline Information System by 

  -Telephone at 1-800-96-ABUSE (962-2873), or 

  -Fax at 1 800-914-0004, or 
  -Online at http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/abuse/report/. 

 

 Failure to perform duties of a mandatory reporter pursuant to s 39.201, F.S. constitutes a violation of the 
standards in ss. 402.301-319, F.S. and is a felony of the third degree. Remember, it is each child care 

Personnel’s responsibility to report suspected abuse and/or neglect. 
 
  All reports are confidential.  However, persons who are mandated reporters (such as child care 

personnel) are required to give their name when making a report. 

 
  It is important to give as much identifying information and factual information as well as physical and 

behavioral indicators of abuse and neglect when making a report. 

 
  Any person, when acting in good faith, is immune from liability in accordance with s. 39.203(1)(a), F.S. 

 

 For more information about child abuse and neglect, visit the Department of Children Family Services’ 
website at www.myflorida.com/childcare and select “Training Requirements”. A 4-hour Identifying and 

Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect course is offered for child care providers. This course is an overview 

of the various types of abuse and neglect, indicators that may be observed, the legal responsibility of 
mandatory reporters, and the proper procedure for reporting abuse and neglect, as required by ss. 402-

305 (2) and 402.313(1), F.S. The course is offered both online and instructor-based throughout Florida. 
  

This statement is to verify that on _________, 20___, I, _____________________________________ 
                                                                Date                              Print Name of Director, Owner,  Employee, or Substitute 

read and understood the information and my mandated reporting requirements. 

 
________________________________________      ________________________________________ 
Signature of Employee or Substitute                                            Signature of Director or Owner 

  

Statement Concerning Previous Employment 

This statement must be signed by all children’s center staff members on or before hire date. 

It does not need to be signed again unless there is a 90 day break in service. 
Have you ever worked in a facility that has had a license denied, revoked or suspended in any state OR been the 

subject of a disciplinary action or been fined while employed in a children’s center? 
 Yes  No  

I attest under penalty of perjury that the above answer is true. 
     __________________________ 
Signature of Employee or Substitute                                                    Date 
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